Since the Virginia Association of Fairs organization began in about 1917, there has been a long illustrious line of individuals who have served the association as President.  Each of the following individuals has served the association drawing on their knowledge, skills, abilities and experience as leaders in their professions and their businesses and as President or Manager of their local or regional fair.  Know only to them and to their Board members are the countless hours, days and dollars they have donated by their service and their effort as President to benefit the Virginia Association of Fairs and its fair members and associate members.

Based upon present association records availability, the following list is as complete as we know today.  Through the good times, through wars and financial calamities, these leaders have contributed to the good and to the continuation of the VAF as a professional service organization to the fair industry. Our thanks to them for their leadership and their contributions.


 H. G. Watkins Danville, VA   1918-1939
Charles A. Somma Richmond, VA State Fair of VA 1940-1943
Thomas B. McCaleb Covington, VA   1944-1947
W. W. Wilkins South Boston, VA Halifax Co 1948-1949
L. F. Altaffer Warsaw, VA   1950-1951
C. C. Finch Danville, VA   1952-1954
Garland E. Moss Chase City, VA   1955-1957
Marvin w. Reynolds Woodstock, VA   1958-1959
J. C. Brickert Farmville, VA   1960-1961
J. A. Mitchell Richmond, VA State Fair of VA 1962-1963
Charles W. Wampler, Jr. 2049 Sunny Slope Ln
Harrisonburg, VA
Rockingham Co 1964-1965
Walter C. Buckner Roanoke, VA   1966-1967
Stanley R. Hutcherson Petersburg, VA   1968-1969
Kenneth P. Asbury Wise, VA    1970-1971
W. E. Finch Danville, VA  Danville-Pittsylvania Co 1972
Joseph B. Johnson 9807 Park St
Manassas, VA 22110
Prince Wm Co 1973-1974
Josephine Shepperson Richmond, VA State Fair of VA 1975-1976
J. E. Rowell    Fredericksburg Co 1977-1978
H. A. Farris Dublin, VA  New River Valley 1979-1980
George Bearn Fishersville, VA Augusta Co 1981-1982
Auburn F. Estes 102 George St Farmville, VA 23901 Five County 1983-1984
Thurston J. Ploutz Dayton, VA Rockingham Co 1985-1986
M. M. Clingenpeel 1003 Maplewood Crt.
Martinsville, VA 24112
Danville-Pittsylvania Co 1987-1988
James B. Paitsell P O Box 263
New Castle, VA 24127
Craig Co. Fair 1989-1990
Albert Roseberry, Jr. P O Box 175
Manassas, VA 22110
Prince Wm Co 1991-1992
Blaine G. Lenhart 247 N. Main St
Chase City, VA 23924
South-Central 1993-1994
Thomas R. Inman P O Box 202
Stuart, VA 24171
Patrick Co 1995
William F. Schwartz P O Box 28805
Richmond, VA 23261
State Fair of VA 1996-1997
Dennis L. Cupp 4808 S. Valley Pike
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Rockingham Co 1998-1999
David A. Leonard 1780 E. Main St, Box 10
Lebanon, VA 24266
Russell Co 2000
Kelly J. Liddington P O Box 152
Warsaw, VA 22572
Richmond Co 2001
Dennis L. Cupp 4808 S. Valley Pike
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Rockingham Co 2002-2003
Bill Milleson 135 Longmarch Road
Berryville, VA 22611
Clarke Co 2004-2005
Alan Nogiec 24269 Lovers Lane
Windsor, VA 23487
Isle of Wight Co 2006
Joye Wood 175 Long Meadow Lane
Middletown, VA 22645
Warren Co 2007-2008
Keith Johnson 6191 West Pointe Lane
Warrenton, VA 20187
Prince William County 2009-2010 
Brenda Rich P.O. Box 298
Casanova, VA 20139
Fauquier County Fair 2011-2012
Tom Eshelman   1451 Lakeview Dr.
Front Royal, VA
Shenandoah County Fair 2013-2014 merchant